growinghumans


Fall
November 2, 2014, 2:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am hanging on.

I have felt like I was hanging on by just a thread for what has felt like weeks and weeks but everyday I become a little bit more fragile; a little bit more delicate.

I feel thin. I feel changed.

A cold, crisp breeze hits me in just the right way.

I detach.

For a moment, or longer, I feel terrified. I feel lost and blind and confused.

Then, something magical happens.

I float.

Breeze upon breeze find my tiny, thin body and twirl me between them.

I dance.

There are others with me now. Some look like me, like they have come from the same place as me; but, some look different. We all dance upon the cool winds of change. We can all feel the invigorating dance that life is allowing us to participate in.

We are carried.

We are carried to places we didn’t know existed; that we didn’t know we wanted to see.

All the while, we are spinning around one another, collecting more and more companions as we are carried. We are a multitude now.

What we don’t realize is that while we are dancing and twirling and traveling, we are also falling.

We are floating ever-so-slowing down to the earth.

The impact does not hurt, nor does it even surprise us. It is just that, suddenly, we have stopped moving. There is mass under our tired backs. We look up and see the sky, turning different shades of grey with clouds traveling quickly by.

We miss the dance. We miss the feeling of the constant movement that we had absolutely no control over. We miss the friends we made on the way, even as they lay next to us on the ground.

We do not, not once, miss where we came from. We do not miss hanging onto something that doesn’t move, waiting to be released. We will never miss that.

The sky fades from sight as more pile upon us. We sigh as each one falls to the ground.

We rest.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Amazing, ethereal, poetic, and hits me right in the feels. Sometimes I don’t feel *quite* so completely alone. You’re one of my favorite humans, Carrie.

Comment by Wendy

Love love love to you!

Comment by growinghumans

[…] Fall: “We miss the dance. We miss the feeling of the constant movement that we had absolutely no control over. We miss the friends we made on the way, even as they lay next to us on the ground.” Holy moly, this piece is beautiful. I want it printed on some image of fall and twirling and light and love. […]

Pingback by Sunday Links: November 9, 2014 | Stop, Drop and Blog




Leave a Reply

