growinghumans


Why I hate the middle of November:
November 16, 2014, 11:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

To be fair, this will be nothing new for any mother, ever, in the history of life.

My Tiny Human was born the week of Thanksgiving, so around this time each year, things get a little bit crazy.

WHAT DOES SHE NEED.

WHAT DOES SHE WANT.

WHAT DO YOU WANT HER TO HAVE.

I SAW THIS DOES SHE NEED THIS HOW ABOUT 12 OF THEM.

wash. rinse. repeat three weeks later for Christmas.

Which is fine because people love my Tiny Human and she loves them and it’s a beautiful thing I AM SURE.

But guys.

There are only so many meaningful and well thought out gifts floating around in the universe for a 4 year old girl. Like, 5 to be exact. And those gifts gets snatched up by grandparents and aunts and uncles and godparents. Which leaves the parents of the Tiny Human in DANGEROUS TERRITORY.

You know what I’m talking about.

We all do.

Princess Crap.

GUYS I AM SO TIRED OF PRINCESS CRAP.

I AM DROWNING IN PRINCESS CRAP.

I AM LITERALLY TYPING THIS ENTRY IN A STORAGE ROOM FULL OF PRINCESS CRAP.

I sometimes ask myself, where did I go wrong? I had so many good intentions when I first had this little girl. She will be gender blind! She will love blue! And trucks! And the Red Sox! She will be wielding a Playstation controller by age 5!

And yet, here we are. And I don’t think I’ve done anything wrong. I think there’s something biologically wired into these little girls that makes them go absolutely crack-addict crazy over princess crap.

And, guys, I AM SO SICK OF FROZEN MERCHANDISE I COULD CRY.

But, none of this matters. When she is opening gifts on her birthday or on Christmas she is only going to recognize that someone thinks she is special enough to get some stuff.

She will not care how carefully selected the gift was. She will not care how much it was or what store it came from.

She will only care about that feeling of awe and surprise.

I need to remember that. I need to focus on that.

I need to

let 

it

go.

I need a drink.

Happy birthday, Tiny Human.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Both boys, mid November (17 and 24). Munchkin 12 days before Christmas. This time of year, omfg.

Comment by Jenna Hatfield

If it wasn’t princess crap it would probably be something else. I wonder what it is for boys…

Comment by Blaze2242

a post for you: “snow white does to medical school” http://amomamok.blogspot.com/2011/08/snow-white-goes-to-med-school.html

Finally, buy your kid experiences, not just gifts (says the childless woman. i know i know.)

Comment by Sue

omg this made me laugh so hard, thank you… drowning in princess dresses. All I can say is that she climbs fences in them, rides ponies in them, makes mud castles in them…. they don’t slow her down. But if I see one more tulle skirt I may puke.

Comment by Melissa Altman




Leave a Reply

