growinghumans


On why you don’t need a Pinterest board full of resolutions
January 4, 2015, 6:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

New Year 2015 formed from sparking digits over black backgroundIt is January 4th. 

I spent an hour today, submerged in a bathtub full of bubbles and fragrance, thinking about what I would do with this year. Not a resolution, per say, but taking what I know from my last 12 months of life and applying that for an optimal continued 12 months.

It seemed the logical thing to do.

And I have decided that

I am going to

stop

saying

I’m sorry. 

Now, let me clarify. 

That is not to say that I will not admit when I am wrong and take responsibility for it.

Though, to be fair, I tend to simply say “my bad, dude” if that happens.

Because I’m a gangsta.

But, what I mean is I am going to stop apologizing for being me.

I will no longer feel the need to be sorry for having one child; for wanting two dogs; for painting my house bright colors; for dying my hair bright colors.

I refuse to be sorry for taking time for myself apart from my family.

I won’t be sorry for liking Taylor Swift or this new One Direction song.

I will no longer feel wrong for not wanting to be tan, or tall, or even thin.

I won’t be sorry for wearing leggings as pants.

I will not apologize when I am better than guys at video games.

I cannot feel sorry over my past. I do not live there anymore.

And I will no longer feel I should be sorry for some of the things I write in this blog–

I write brash and open and I know that makes some people uncomfortable, but that is me.

This is me.

All of these things are me. 

So, instead of challenging all of you fine people of the internet to be a better person this year, I instead have a different challenge for you all:

realize that you are already a good person who may not need changing.

Be kind to yourself, friends. We are all we have at the end of the day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

