growinghumans


My skin care routine
January 17, 2015, 6:48 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

face items

If you follow me on Instagram or know me closely, you know that I am a bit of a skin care and beauty product addict. I follow Youtubers and blogs and buy WHAT THEY TELL ME I NEED.

It is important to take care of yourself, reader. You must maintain the machine. The center must hold. You need that face mask. All that.

Anyway, a friend mentioned that if I blogged about the products I use, she would read it so I am goingto write about the products I use.

Today: Face products.

My skin is very dry; like, painfully dry. I lived in a state where the air was so cold it hurt my face for five years and I’m sure that wreaked havoc on my skin.

I’m also 30, so things are starting to crease, if you know what I mean. If you are 30 something then yes, you know what I mean.

For face wash lately, I’ve just been using little sample pots from the best store that has ever been invented: LUSH. I’m currently using a face wash called AquaMarina and it’s pretty wonderful. It has seaweed and calamine lotion in it so I really feel like it is cleaning my skin but also coating my skin with a barrier of moisture, which is extra important during the winter.

For a toner, I have been also using a Lush product that I have loved for about two years now–the Eau Roma Water. It comes in a spray bottle so you can use it as a straight up toner, a skin refresher, or even to help in remove some light makeup. It’s made from roses and lavender and all things that smell lovely. I literally bought this bottle a year ago and there is still liquid in it so a little goes a long way and it is worth the money.

I struggled for a very long time to find the right moisturizer for my face. For some reason the Lush lotions did not sit right on my skin. So, I scavenged Youtube and my blogs and came up with what was, of course, the best product; DermaE Refining Creme. This stuff is amazing because it pulls a double duty for me. I use a small amount of it in the morning as a day cream, but at night I apply the same cream heavily and focus on where I see..creasing…like around my eyes, and it works great as a night cream. I get this at Ulta and they have it on sale quite often.

Face masks are super important for dry skin, I think. Last year I used about every face mask that Lush makes and I recommend them all the time to people. They are made with “fresh” ingredients so you have to keep them in the fridge, which makes you feel like you are putting something really good on your face.

But, Carrie, there isn’t a Lush face mask in this picture. There’s a fancy Origins one.

Yes. Yes, there is.

I just got this face mask, at the urging of one of my internet gurus and by george it’s wonderful. It isn’t a gloppy, messy mask like your standard situation; it’s more like a thick cream. I applied it last night all over my face and got into bed. When I woke up this morning, my face was literally glowing. GLOWING, GUYS. My guru also mentioned using this on airplanes to avoid that sick, fatigued look skin tends to get from the awful air quality and I think that sounds swell. The only downfall is that I had to go into Sephora to buy this and I typically hate going into Sephora because they treat me like I am a dungeon troll but WHATEVER. I bought the damn face mask. face items2

So, that is my skin care routine. I try and keep it very simple and some days when I am not wearing makeup I will usually just spray some toner on, pat it dry, and call it a day. Washing my face every day tends to make my skin angry, and it probably makes yours angry, too. You may just not realize it.

Keep it simple. Keep it gentle.

Like everything else, y’all.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

