growinghumans


The Human Condition: A musical.
February 13, 2015, 5:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

 

Growing a human is hard work. Music, I find, makes it easier.

But only easier in a way that sometimes makes you cry because it applies so well to your experience.

Here are a few of my favorite songs about growing tiny humans:

Tom Petty “Wildflowers”

I always picture my husband dancing with our tiny human to this song. Maybe at her wedding but if I think about that for too long, my face dissolves off of my skull.

 

Rod Stewart “Forever Young”

If this song doesn’t make you want to clutch your tiny human to your body for the duration of the entire damn song, you are dead inside.

 

Lee Ann Womack “I Hope You Dance”

I think what we all need for our tiny humans is the courage to face the good and the bad in life–I think too often we, as adults, run from the good. We don’t know how to process it and that makes us too nervous to want to explore the feeling. I hope you dance, tiny human. I hope you still feel small when stand beside the ocean.

 

Switchfoot “I Dare You To Move”

When I think very specifically about what kind of fully grown human I want my tiny human to become, this song always comes to mind; perhaps because of my experience with mood disorders and sadness–but I want her to fight. If I pass this on to her, and I might, I want her to be a fighter. And I want her to know that I will be there, helping her and daring her to run, move, and lift herself up off of the floor.

 

One Republic “I Lived”

My final song for my tiny human is one that deals with disappointment and how I hope she will be a strong and honorable woman about it. My favorite line in this song and what takes my breath away when I look in my rear view mirror and see her singing along is “I hope that when everyone leaves, you chose to stay”. Be brave, my girl. Hold your chin up high and realize that the road less traveled holds the most adventure.

 

All I want for my tiny human is everything.

I want her to belong among the wildflowers. I want her to be courageous and brave. I want her to always chose to dance when given a chance. I want her to recognize the tension between who she is and who she could be. And I want her to fall in love that it hurts so bad.

 

 

That’s all.

 

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

