growinghumans


From the mouths of babes
October 20, 2015, 11:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m withdrawing from my 900 mgs of Lithium to start a new medication. This is causing me to rapid cycle my mood disorder. If you don’t know what this means and can’t guess, Google it. It’s making life difficult. I know it will pass, but still.

Still.

Tonight, a few moments ago, I was crying in the bathroom. I had taken a bath to clear my mind from the day and found it hard to get myself out of the tub. The water had long gone cold and my Tiny Human needed to be fed. The iPad doesn’t supply dinner. Yet.

I finally peeled myself from the draining water and, as usual, burst into tears.

Tiny Human, horrifyingly enough, heard me and rushed to my side. I collapsed, wrapped in a towel, to the floor. Sobbing, now.

In front of my child.

“What’s wrong, mommy?”

“Nothing. Nothing. Go watch your show.”

“Do your miss your mommy and daddy? Do you miss your sister?”

“I don’t know. I don’t know.”

“Do you know what mommy? I know a secret?”

“What? Tell me.”

She leaned in, her tiny lips–the lips I made inside of my own body–brushing against my cheek,

“I love you. And you’re going to be okay.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

