growinghumans


Daily Interrogation
November 10, 2015, 10:39 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

What is your name?

Mia M-I-A.

How old are you?

Four.

What is your favorite movie?

Rapunzel.

Rapunzel isn’t a movie.

Oh…she’s a show? Um…Ariel?

Also not a movie.

Oh…then what IS A MOVIE? Star Wars?

Yes.

Ok. Star Wars is my favorite movie.

What did you do today in school?

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm write. Ummmm…I played music. Played in blocks.

Was it a good day?

Yes!

What made it good?

I played in art. We went to Target together.

If you were queen of the world what would you do?

I would eat some cupcakes! I would put some boots on and go outside. Can I eat now?

In a second. What do you love?

I love…you. Carrie. Mommy. I think I’m done.

What last words would you like to say?

I like Beatrice the most best. Love, Mia. The end! That’s the story. I SEE A SIGHT WORD, MOMMY.

—-

I miss my child when she isn’t with me. I draft up interesting questions to ask her when we are together again. I want our conversations to be meaningful and important.

All I am, it seems at times, is words. Making the words count; sharpening them like daggers. It’s the same with moments.

Society puts such a weird emphasis on MOMENTS WITH OUR CHILDREN.

Like, can I Instagram this Starbucks cup while my kid plays on the playground or is someone on a blog going to call me out? Probably. They’re probably going to call me out.

Here’s what I’ve learned about words, moments, joy, power. They aren’t just fleeting things to grasp at. They aren’t passing you by. You aren’t missing them. They are fixed points in your life and it is up to you to steal them. STEAL THE JOY. Don’t wait for your child to have a sentimental and deep conversation with you. They will tell you about wearing boots and going outside. They will tell you about Shopkins. They will tell you they did nothing at school today.

STEAL IT.

Ask them what you want to know. Do you love me? What makes you sad? Are people kind to you? ARE YOU KIND TO PEOPLE? What do you think of people who are different than you are?

Parenting is a writing prompt; except there is no proper prompt–the teacher just walks into the room and writes “CHILDREN” on the blackboard and tells you to go. No one is going to hand you the parenting experiences you think you deserve. Pinterest can only take you so far, y’all.

Steal the joy.

Ask the questions.

Be the parent.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

