growinghumans


The Lion Asked for Courage Because He Didn’t Know He Was a Lion
November 12, 2015, 10:54 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I received a message from a friend this morning.

“I think I”m headed for an OCD and bipolar diagnosis.” 

and then,

“I’m scared.”

I remember when I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I remember sitting on the white leather sofa in my psychiatrist’s office for the first time. I remember her typing on her MacBook Pro my entire mental history. I remember reciting all of the antidepressants I had been on. I remember her pausing and then looking at me.

“I don’t think you’re a manic depressive case. I think you have bipolar disorder with PTSD.”

I remember the utter and sheer

relief

that came with that diagnosis.

You will never be more scared than you are right now. You will never know fear like you feel right now. It will never get worse. Right now, you are scared of something that you cannot defeat; you are scared of yourself.

You are terrified by what is going on inside of your own body. You have no control over your thoughts, your emotions, your actions.

Let this person diagnosis you. Let them treat you. Give to them all of your worries and confusion and watch them weave them into a plan that gives you back the power that you are so desperately lacking.

Even if they put your on medication.

Even if the medication doesn’t work the first time.

Or the eighth time.

Even if the doctor is the right one to treat you.

Cling to that diagnosis. You are not the problem. You are not the illness.

You are the soldier, here. You are in bootcamp. You are waiting for your weapon, for your assignment.

Arm yourself with your diagnosis. You may have OCD. You may have bipolar disorder.

You are not OCD.

You are not bipolar disorder.

You are a dear soul who now can form a plan to feel

better

in control

relief

joy.

Anything you have been lacking. You can find all of these things again now that you know what you are up against. It’s no longer you against the inside of your head. They have names. You know where they live. You know their weaknesses.

Go for the ankles first.

Take them down.

Take

them

down. 

And never, ever be scared.

Have courage, dear heart. 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

this one’s getting printed for a few of my client’s! Love you Miss Carrie! ❤

Comment by Holly "F" Haywood




Leave a Reply

