growinghumans


A Wee Pep Talk
November 15, 2015, 1:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My little sister is due to give birth to her first child on December 8.

3 weeks to go.

If you’ve been there, you know how she’s feeling about now.

Anyway, she went to the Dr a few days ago with high hopes. Just one centimeter, she pleaded. Tell me this discomfort is at least doing something.

Nope. Zero station. Cervix closed. Negative landing gear.

I took this time to ask her to do something for me.

To do something really important for me because I didn’t do it for myself.
I asked her to make a list of her priorities for her birth experience.

This is not a birth plan. I don’t care about your birth plan. I am talking about a piece of paper that has the top 5 things you are going to need on that night to make your birth what you imagined.

Do you want the lights dimmed? Do you want to pace around? Do you want to get into that nice Jacuzzi tub that my room had but I was never offered? Do you want pillows and your own dressing gown? Do you want soothing music? Do you want loud, adrenaline pumping music? What do you want? What do you need? You. Just you. What is your plan?

I thought I had a plan. I thought I knew exactly what I wanted before going into labor.

I didn’t write it down; I would remember! Everything was going to be great.

It wasn’t great, as most of you know. I forgot every single thing that was important to me.

And I did the worst thing any laboring mother can do during this time–

I looked to other people for what they thought I needed.

Write.

It.

Down.

Give it to your husband. Make copies. Laminate them. Hand them out like programs at a wedding.

“Hi, thanks for coming to my birth, please find your name on this piece of paper and do your job.”

That room is yours. That time is yours. You are under no obligation to fill a time table or an expectation.

Write down what you want to happen and people will listen. People will take you seriously. And you will have the birth you want and, more importantly, the birth you deserve.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I write things down all the time. But that’s cuz I’m old and forget things.

Comment by BobG




Leave a Reply

