growinghumans


Making Waves
November 11, 2016, 2:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I started writing a novel back in August. At first, I outlined it on a wall using post-it notes and index cards. It is meant to be historical fiction so keeping my timeline correct along with every other little detail possible seemed insurmountable without a visual aid.

Some of my friends knew I was working on “big project”, some new it was a book, most had no idea  I was even doing something like this. For weeks (months? it’s blending) I refused to tell anyone what it was about. They would ask for hints or titles or character names and I would not budge. –Not because I wanted it to be this grand, dramatic secret; but, because I was truly unsure whether or not it was a stupid idea.

You know that feeling? When you have a ground breathtakingly amazing idea and you realize that no one has ever done anything like it before…and for a little while you question, “Why”?

Why has no one covered this specific topic? It seems like a wonderful story waiting to happen. I searched to the darkest corners of the internet *just in case* I was missing something super obvious, but I found nothing.

I remember when I finally told the first person about the book. I had meant to just give a general overview–I explained the main character, the origin of the story, the basic plot line. They immediately got excited about it. “Now, wait.” I started. “I need you to be perfectly honest with me. Is this a dumb idea? Would people read this?” No and yes were the answers along with my original confusion on why this book hadn’t already been written. I felt validated and that I could finally immerse myself in this story.

I feel like life is a lot like this process. People have ideas that are great and obvious and doable in their minds, but for some reason when we are the only person with that idea, we balk a little. We second guess ourselves. Our initial response isn’t that we clearly must be smarter than everyone else but that the idea is not worth having. No one (well, maybe Hamilton) has ever pronounced themselves a visionary, a revolutionist.

If everyone felt this way, nothing would ever happen.

We wouldn’t have revolted against the British. We wouldn’t have started the underground railroad. We wouldn’t have landed on the moon. We wouldn’t have voted for the first female presidential candidate.

If you have a singular idea, do not be afraid of that. Protect it; rare ideas are dangerous and wonderful and make the largest cut through your life. Often it will be those ideas that define you for the rest of your life. Your courage and determination will inspire others to join in on that idea with you. It will become a movement, an experiment, a ripple.

We have to remind ourselves that it is worth being that first stone, skipping across the still water, leaving waves in our wake.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That’s so awesome that you’re writing a book! I understand the fear, thinking it’s stupid or boring, or no one would be interested.

I feel like I almost have the opposite problem though, I don’t think any of my ideas are original. I know (or assume) others have already thought of them and done a better job with them already…

Comment by Blaze2242




Leave a Reply

