growinghumans


Take Your Stand
August 11, 2017, 1:53 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

In life, people are going to tell you what to do, how to dress, when to speak. They will passively push their way into your willpower until you suddenly find yourself without an opinion of your own.

You can fight that. You can say ‘no’.

 

But what I am here to tell you this evening, dear readers

What is most important to say ‘no’ to

Is when people try and tell you what in your was real and whether your feelings were actual.

No one in your life can take away what life has and will always mean to you. They can not take away your memories, the beating of your heart, your struggles, your moments of pure joy.

Perhaps they are no longer true for some people. Perhaps they have chosen to turn a blind eye to all of those things.

But no on can make you do it.

Protect your heart, your memories, your love.

There will be times where you will want to forget it all. There will be times where you will want to wail at the moon and make all of the memories go away.

But that would be like cutting off an arm, losing an eye. I have seen things, felt things, tasted things on my lips.

In life, there are always going to be reasons to forget things ever happened, but I stand here in revolt saying that I refuse to go down with that ship. I will not wave a white flag of submission. I am making my stand here with my memories and I will place my hand on my heart and I will remind myself every damn day if I have to that everything that has ever happened to me happened and that all of it was so real that at times I didn’t have words or breath to take it all in.

 

 

Protect your heart. You are a real person full of real things.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

